In order to involve LU students in the development of the Academic Centre and to identify wishes and needs in the creation of the future study environment, on 16 May 2019 the House of Science held UL Student Hackathon, during which 12 students from different faculties submitted their proposals for the Academic Centre.

The works were evaluated by a competent jury, which included architect Ingurds Lazdiņš as the chairman of the jury, in accordance with the regulations of the event and its criteria; UL spatial planning prof. Master's study program director assoc. prof. Pēteris Šķiņķis; Gunta Lukstiņa, coordinator of the professional master's study program in spatial development planning at the University of Latvia; Jekaterina Kotello, expert of the development program (design and construction) of the Academic Centre of the University of Latvia; Ieva Apsīte, Leading Expert of the Development Program of the Academic Centre of the University of Latvia; Diāna Ritere, Head of the Social Department of the University of Latvia Student council; Kaspars Eglītis, Member of the Chairman of the University of Latvia Student council in internal affairs.

The main prize of the LU Student Hackathon - a prize in the amount of 150 EUR and an invitation to “Mad City” - was received by FGES student Jānis Sperga, who had prepared concrete proposals for improving the infrastructure around the Academic Centre and creating convenient, safe access. The second place was awarded to FSS student Sindija Kostigova, who offered to create an outdoor event place and a green area, as well as to introduce information boards for exercises for the eyes and body, which should be performed in moments of rest. Third place was awarded to FBME student Emīls Ērglis, whose work emphasized the need to increase the number of parking spaces, provide convenient access to the Academic Centre, as well as build a green area (green wall indoors, park construction in the centre, and involvement of students and teachers in green area development).

In addition to the above works, interesting ideas and suggestions were also submitted by other students - Toms Muižarājs; Georgijs Baškirovs; Kirils Solovjovs; Paula Vilka; Romāns Konstantinovs; Kintija Anna Bērzkalne; Linda Zuze; Miks Vilkaplāters; Staņislavs Filatovs.